Texas set to honor 25 seniors before final home game vs. Texas Tech

Texas set to honor 25 seniors before final home game vs. Texas Tech
Texas set to honor 25 seniors before final home game vs. Texas Tech

The list includes two starters with remaining eligibility.

In a pregame ceremony prior to Friday’s regular-season finale against the Texas Tech Red Raiders at Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium, head coach Steve Sarkisian and the Texas Longhorns will honor 25 seniors, according to the game notes released by the school on Monday :

  • Walk-on wide receiver Paxton Anderson
  • Walk-on tight end Gus Asel
  • Defensive back Jahdae Barron
  • Walk-on tight end Patrick Bayouth
  • Linebacker Jett Bush
  • Defensive tackle Trill Carter
  • Safety Jalen Catalon
  • Defensive tackle Alfred Collins
  • Safety Kitan Crawford
  • Linebacker Jaylan Ford
  • Linebacker David Gbenda
  • Offensive lineman Sawyer Goram-Welch
  • Right tackle Christian Jones
  • Walk-on linebacker Tannahill Love
  • Walk-on kicker Gabriel Lozano
  • Center Jake Majors
  • Defensive lineman Peter Mpagi
  • Defensive tackle Byron Murphy
  • Wide receiver Isaiah Neyor
  • Running back Kaylan Robinson
  • Punter Ryan Sanborn
  • Defensive tackle T’Vondre Sweat
  • Safety Jerrin Thompson
  • Wide receiver Jordan Whittington

The most notable names on the list are Majors, a redshirt junior, and Murphy, a true junior, who both have remaining eligibility, but their inclusion doesn’t necessarily mean that they plan on turning pro or otherwise moving on from Texas football, as the decision to return by right tackle Christian Jones last year indicates.

Fourth-year junior offensive lineman Sawyer Goram-Welch also has a remaining year of eligibility, but hasn’t been a contributor on either side of the ball in his career after signing as a defensive lineman in the 2020 recruiting class.

Majors, Murphy, and Goram-Welch are all set to earn their bachelors or masters degrees or graduate certificates this fall, along with junior quarterback Charles Wright.

A handful of players who don’t project as selections in the 2024 NFL Draft have COVID years available to use like Robinson, Neyor, Carter, Gbenda, Catalon, Crawford, and Thompson, while Collins is a potential fringe draft pick with the remaining unrealized talent to increase his draft stock significantly by returning for another season, similar to Sweat.

Texas likely won’t have more certainty about the status of players honored on Friday who have the ability to return until Sarkisian holds exit interviews following the season’s conclusion.

Current Texas roster matrix

Position 2024 class 2023 class Freshmen/Sophomores Sophomores/Juniors Junior/Senior Super senior Total
Position 2024 class 2023 class Freshmen/Sophomores Sophomores/Juniors Junior/Senior Super senior Total
QB Trey Owens Arch Manning** Maalik Murphy* Charles Wright 4
Quinn Ewers
RB Jerrick Gibson Cedric Baxter Jr.** Jaydon Blue Jonathan Brooks Kaylan Robinson 6
Christian Clark Tre Wisner Savion Red
WR Freddie Debose Ryan Niblett AD Mitchell Casey Cain Isaiah Neyor 8
Parker Livingstone John Tay Cook** Xavier Worthy Jordan Whittington
Ryan Wingo DeAndre Moore Jr.**
THERE Jordan Washington Spencer Shannon Juan Davis 5
Will Randle Gunnar Helm
Ja’Tavion Sanders
OL Daniel Cruz Jaydon Chatman** Cole Hutson Hayden Conner Sawyer Goram-Welch Christian Jones 17
Nate Kibble Connor Stroh** Connor Robertson* Max Merrill Jake Major
Brandon Baker Andre Cojoe** Kelvin Banks
Trevor Goosby Cam Williams
Payton Kirkland** Net Omeozulu*
Malik Agbo*
DJ Campbell
DL/OLB Alex January Colten Vasek** Justice Finkley Byron Murphy Vernon Broughton T’Vondre Sweat 17
Melvin Hills Derion Gullette** J’Mond Tapp* Barry Sorrell Alfred Collins
D’antre Robinson Sydir Mitchell** Zac Swanson* Trill Carter
Colin Simmons Billy Walton Aaron Bryant*
Knows Omeuzulu Tausili Akana Jaray Bledsoe*
Ethan Burke
ILB S’Maje Burrell Maurice Blackwell David Gbenda Jett Bush 7
Lyon Lefau** Jaylan Ford
Anthony Hill Jr.**
DB Jordon Johnson-Rubell Derek Williams Jaylon Guilbeau Gavin Holmes Kitan Crawford 17
Santana Wilson Malik Muhammad** Austin Jordan Michael Taaffe Jahdae Barron
Aeryn Hampton Jelani McDonald Terrance Brooks Jerrin Thompson
Wardell Mack Warren Roberson Bryan Allen Jr.* Ryan Watts
X’Avion Brice* Jalen Catalon
Larry Turner-Gooden*
K/P/DS Michael Kern Will Stone Ryan Sanborn 3
Lance St. Louis 84
Left program/In transfer portal Medical Transferred *Redshirted
Edge Chris Ross **Early enrollee

Read more

The article is in Latvian

Tags: Texas set honor seniors final home game Texas Tech


NEXT India vs Australia 4th T20 match: When, where and how to watch, live-streaming details